Rowing Declares 2020-2021 Crew Awards | WDVM25 and DCW50

MORGANTOWN, W.Va – West Virginia rowing coach Jimmy King introduced the winners of the Crew Awards for the 12 months 2020-2021, recognizing the winners of the Senior Awards and the Hammer, Flame Awards , Most Improved and MVP.

Every of those honors went to a member of the varsity staff and a member of the freshman staff.

“Along with the Hammer Awards for the quickest ergs, our winners are chosen by their friends,” King stated. “Moderately than a easy vote, an announcement must be written about every candidate, which not solely requires consideration, however permits everybody, particularly the winner, to know how they’re perceived and appreciated by their teammates. ”

This 12 months, Senior Recognition Awards had been offered to Ruth Mierzejewski, Amanda Starliper, Jordan Wittmaack and Jessica Woy.

The Flame Award is offered to varsity and first-year athletes whose teammates have acknowledged their constant work ethic and contributions to the staff by serving as constructive position fashions inside and past the scope of the staff’s actions. . These athletes elevate their teammates with phrases of encouragement and thru their actions throughout troublesome practices, demonstrating a real mountaineering spirit.

This 12 months’s Flame Award recipients are junior Emma Toy and second Madison Lindung of the varsity staff, and the freshman award went to freshman Ashlea Clark. That is the second 12 months that Toy has been nominated for the award.

The Hammer Award is given to a freshman and school athletes with the quickest 2k erg scores of the 12 months. He acknowledges the significance of energy for pace within the sport of rowing.

This 12 months’s Hammer Award winner was Allyson George senior of the varsity staff and freshman Clark. That is the third 12 months that George has received the award.

The Most Improved Award goes to the first-year member and varsity athletes whose teammates have acknowledged them as having made the best enhancements of their rowing efficiency all year long. These enhancements are completed by way of exhausting work on the erg, the water, and within the weight room.

This 12 months’s Most Improved Award recipients are junior Gabrielle Riggleman of the varsity staff and rookie Laurna Atkins.

The ultimate award of the 12 months is the MVP award. The award is offered to first-year student-athletes and lecturers whose teammates have acknowledged their contribution as vital to the success of the staff. It takes under consideration efficiency on and off the water, in addition to management and focuses on how these contribute to operating on the water.

This 12 months’s winners are Toy from the varsity staff and rookie Emily DeGlopper, who was chosen as the primary 12 months award winner.

“Regardless of the disruptions and challenges encountered all year long, this 12 months’s squad has grown and developed considerably because the fall,” King added. “They have been requested quite a bit, particularly the youthful first and second 12 months members, and our award recipients signify a few of the finest examples of that progress.”

The rowing staff will journey to Austin, TX to compete within the Huge 12 Championship on Sunday Could 16 at Lake Waker E. Lengthy.

Supply hyperlink

About Nancy Fries

Nancy Fries

Check Also

Birla Cellulose wins progressive and sustainable provide chain award from UN International Compact Community India

Mumbai, India, April 16, 2021 / PRNewswire / – Birla Cellulose, a part of the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *