‘Alaskan Nets’, ‘Timber of Peace’ win – Deadline

Alaskan fillets, an govt documentary produced by Chris Pratt that focuses on the confluence of highschool basketball and fishing tradition at a local reserve in Southeast Alaska, received the Viewers Award on the Santa Barbara Movie Pageant.

The thirty sixth annual pageant, which hosted a hybrid in-person / digital occasion that kicked off on March 31, concludes immediately with the revealing of its awards. Alaskan fillets, directed by Jeff Harasimowicz, received the Individuals’s Alternative Award from a complete of 11 classes represented.

“To say we’re thrilled to win the Individuals’s Alternative Award can be an understatement,” mentioned Harasimowicz. “Seeing this movie resonate with audiences is a deeply humbling expertise. We’re very honored to have had this particular alternative to share Alaskan Nets in Santa Barbara and I do know it’s an expertise that my workforce, our households and all the neighborhood of Metlakatla will always remember. Within the phrases of Metlakatla’s native tongue, “Wayi Wah! / Let’s go! ‘ “

Associated story

Alaskan Nets Trailer: Slam Dunks and Salmon Outline Distant Neighborhood in Santa Barbara Movie Pageant EP Documentary by Chris Pratt

Different winners revealed on Saturday embody a pair of wins for Timber of peace, The drama of Alana Brown, 4 girls from completely different backgrounds who create an indelible bond whereas hiding throughout the Rwandan genocide of 1994. It received the Spirit Award for Unbiased Cinema and the ADL Stand Up Award.

Jury members this yr included Tony Anselmo, Antwone Fisher, David Freid, Li Cheng, Geoffrey Cowper, Patricia Rosema, Siqi Tune, Mark Stafford, Rita Taggart, Paul Walter Hauser, Anthony and Arnette Zerbe. The Viewers Prize was chosen from members’ votes on-line and at in-person drive-through occasions.

Right here is the complete listing of winners:

Individuals’s Alternative Award sponsored by The Santa Barbara Unbiased

ALASKAN NETS by Jeff Harasimowicz

Brief documentary award

HOOT PANTS by Richard Reens

Bruce Corwin Award – Dwell Brief Movie

The Savior by Christopher Oroza-Nostas

Bruce Corwin Award – Animated Brief Movie

Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu, Dean Hamer and KAPAEMAHU by Joe Wilson

Documentary Award sponsored by SEE Worldwide

MIRAGE by Nina Stefanka (MIRAGGIO)

Jeffrey C. Barbakow Prize – Worldwide Characteristic Movie

Nisan Dağ’s WHEN I GET DIE

Panavision Spirit Prize for Unbiased Cinema

TREES OF PEACE by Alanna Brown

Nueva Imaginative and prescient Prize for Cinema Spain / Latin America

We’ll by no means die by Eduardo Crespo

Valhalla Award for Greatest Nordic Movie

ERNA AT WAR (ERNA I KRIG) by Henrik Ruben Genz

Documentary Movie Social Justice Award


The ADL Stand Up Prize sponsored by ADL Santa Barbara / Tri-Counties, the Skinner Social Impression Fund and Steve and Cindy Lyons

TREES OF PEACE by Alanna Brown

Supply hyperlink

About Nancy Fries

Nancy Fries

Check Also

School-Led Initiatives Win Three American Institute of Architects Honorary Awards 2021

Timothy hursley CO-OP Ramen in Bentonville obtained an Honorary Award for Inside Design as a …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *